Temples' "Strange Or Be Forgotten" Is Truly Sublime

Jan 12, 2017
You will dig Temples if you like: Tempesst, Tame Impala, The Beach Boys, MGMT, The NeverEnding Story, the word groovy, 'shrooming in the summer, and, if you really, really, really wish flying was your super power. Premiering below is the second single lifted from their forthcoming second record Volcano (out on March 3 via Fat Possum). The song closes the record, which is entirely apropo because what begins as a tune hinged on a clattering, rangy beat and a descending synth line soon swells to a sparkling, string-laden epic. Not to be nerdy,  but the transition from chorus, to pre-chorus, to full blown anthem is a key example of the kind of songwriting that'll make your balls tingle and your scalp tighten. Don't you dare listen to this out of tinny laptop speakers. And when you're done, spin the sci-fi-prog-pop goodness of "Certainty."You will dig Temples if you like: Tempesst, Tame Impala, The Beach Boys, MGMT, The NeverEnding Story, the word groovy, 'shrooming in the summer, and, if you really, really, really wish flying was your super power. Premiering below is the second single lifted from their forthcoming second record Volcano (out on March 3 via Fat Possum). The song closes the record, which is entirely apropo because what begins as a tune hinged on a clattering, rangy beat and a descending synth line soon swells to a sparkling, string-laden epic. Not to be nerdy,  but the transition from chorus, to pre-chorus, to full blown anthem is a key example of the kind of songwriting that'll make your balls tingle and your scalp tighten. Don't you dare listen to this out of tinny laptop speakers. And when you're done, spin the sci-fi-prog-pop goodness of "Certainty."


Temples Tour Dates

Sun. Jan. 22 – Hebden Bridge, UK @ The Trades Club, Heavenly Weekend

Wed. Jan. 25 - Brussels, BE @ Beursschouwburg

Fri. Jan. 27 - Utrecht, NL @ EKKO

Wed. Feb. 22 — San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel *

Fri. Feb. 24 — Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom *

Sat. Feb. 25 — Seattle, WA @ Neumo's *

Sun. Feb. 26 — Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theatre *

Tue. Feb. 28 — Felton, CA @ Don Quixote's *

Wed. March 1 — Nevada City, CA @ Miners Foundry Cultural Center *

Thu. March 2 — Pomona, CA @ Glass House *

Fri. March 3 — Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy and Harriet's *

Sat. March 4 — Los Angeles, CA @ The Regent *

Sun. March 5 — Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern *

Thu. March 9 – Tijuana, BC @ Black Box *

Fri. March 10 – Las Vegas, NV @ Neon Reverb Music Festival @ Plaza Hotel & Casino *

Fri. March 10 – Las Vegas, NV @ Neon Reverb Music Festival @ Plaza Hotel & Casino *

Sat. March 11 — Phoenix, AZ @ Downtown Phoenix [VIVA PHX] *

Sun. March 12 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf *

Tue. March 14 – Thu. March 16 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

Fri. March 17 — Dallas, TX @ Trees *

Sat. March 18 – Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live *

Sun. March 19 – San Antonio, TX @ Burger Records Hangover Fest @ Paper Tiger *

Sun. Mar. 26 - Newcastle, UK @ Riverside

Mon. Mar. 27 - Sheffield, UK @ Leadmill

Tue. Mar. 28 - Manchester, UK @ Academy 2

Thu. Mar. 30 - London, UK @ Brixton Electric

Fri. Mar. 31 - Brighton, UK @ Concorde 2

Sat. Apr. 1 - Derby, UK @ 2Q Festival

Sun. Apr. 2 - Birmingham, UK @ Institute 2

Tue. Apr. 7 - Cologne, DE @ Gebaude 9

Wed. Apr. 8 - Munich, DE @ Strom

Thu. Apr. 9 Prague, CS @ Palac Akropolis

Fri. Apr. 10 - Berlin, DE @ Festaal Kreuzberg

Sat. Apr. 11 - Hamburg, DE @ Knust

Sun. Apr. 12 - Copenhagen, DK @ Pumpehuset

Sat. Apr. 18 - Brussels, BE @ Botanique

Sun. Apr. 19 - Tourcoing, FR @ Le Grand Mix

Mon. Apr. 20 - Lausanne, CH @ Le Docks

Tue. Apr. 21 - Zurich, CH @ Plaza

Wed. Apr. 22 - Lyon, FR @ L'Epicerie Moderne

Fri. Apr. 24 - Paris, FR @ Elysee Montmartre

Mon. Apr. 27 - Bristol, UK @ Trinity Centre

Fri. May 19 - Sun. May 21 - Madrid, ES @ Tomavistas Festival

* = Desert Daze Caravan


oringally published https://noisey.vice.com/en_us/article/temples-stra...